The School Day

The school day for all children begins at 08.55 a.m. The Infant children finish school at 3.15 p.m. while the Junior children finish at 3.20 p.m.

We do not accept responsibility for children who are in the playground before 8.45 am; indeed we positively discourage children from arriving before 8.45 am.

The playground gates are locked at 9.05 a.m. After this time there will be no access to the school other than via the main office. It is very important that children arrive in school on time, as many of the most important notices and messages are given out at the start of a session.

If your child is late for good reason, please send them with a brief note explaining the circumstances. If you have accompanied them please sign them in at the school office.

School Holidays for the School Year 2018–2019

Main Term Dates School Opens School Closes
Autumn Term 2018 Tuesday 4th September Thursday 18th October
Monday 29th October Wednesday 19th December
Spring Term 2019 Monday 7th January Friday 15th February
Monday 25th February Friday 5th April
Summer Term 2019 Tuesday 23rd April Friday 24th May
Closed Monday 6th May 2019 – May Day
Monday 10th June Tuesday 30th July

Public Holidays

Friday  19th April 2019 (Good Friday)

Monday  22nd April 2019 (Easter Monday)

Monday 6th May 2019 (May Day)

Monday 27th May 2019 (Spring Bank Holiday)

Staff In-Service Days (INSET) :

Monday 3rd September 2018

Friday 19th October 2018

Thursday 3rd January 2019

Friday 4th January 2019

Thursday 2nd May 2019 (Polling Day)

 

 

 

Organisation within the Classroom

Children are organised in mixed ability classes in single age groups. A proportion of the work undertaken by the children is organised around thematic approaches, often based primarily around a single subject of the National Curriculum.

The children are taught in a variety of group sizes, from whole class lessons to individual children. We organise our classes to provide the best advantage for the children. Our aim is to ensure that each child will achieve his or her best.

There are two main criteria that determine where a child sits in a class:

1Ability groups – the majority of children in primary education, although not in streamed classes, are grouped by ability within the class (within this aspect, the ability or otherwise of the child to cope with the pace of the work as well as the content will be taken into account). This leads to more effective curriculum planning and to the successful raising of children’s attainment.
2Behaviour – we know that some children are better apart from others and work very hard to place children in classrooms where they will not be disruptive or disrupted.

As professionals, we are constantly seeking to get the best from every child, and we know that an upset child will not learn as effectively as a happy child. The teaching methods we use in our School, and our approach to discipline and behaviour is organised to create a great learning atmosphere and ethos.

Throughout all your time with us we will keep in close contact with you. We do operate a texting service that gives you reminders and alerts. If we have any concerns about your child we will contact you to discuss the issues. We strongly believe that a proactive relationship and partnership between school and parents can be a real boost for all our children’s self being, effectiveness and progress. Please also contact us if you feel there is information that would be helpful to us in supporting your child.